Musical Mirrors

Event details

  • January 26, 2019
  • 8:00 pm
  • Bailey Performance Center

The sacred sounds of two composers resonate in a mixed program of old and new music.

Arguably the most well known living composer, Arvo Pärt developed a unique and appealing style of composition often referred to as mystic or sacred minimalism. Aside from his popularity in the concert hall, his works have also been featured in film and documentaries.

One of the most prolific composers in terms of the sheer volume of his compositional output, Franz Schubert had an uncanny knack of creating appealing melodies. His works traverse multiple genres and include symphonic, chamber, lieder, operas, and incidental music.

This performance features the GSO Chorus, GSO Chorus Director Bryan Black conducting Schubert's Mass No. 2, and the return of GSO favorite Helen Kim performing Schubert's Rondo for Violin and String Orchestra and Pärt's Fratres.


Arvo Pärt
Da pacem Domine 
Arvo Pärt
Franz Schubert
Rondo for Violin and String Orchestra
Franz Schubert
Overture in C minor
Arvo Pärt
Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Arvo Pärt
Fratres for Violin, Strings, and Percussion
Mass No. 2 in G  D. 167

Helen Kim

Helen Hwaya Kim made her orchestral debut with the Calgary...

Read more

Georgia Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Founded in 2007, the GSO Chorus performs choral/orchestral works, pops,...

Read more

Bryan Black

Bryan Black has worked as a conductor, educator, church musician...

Read more

Timothy Verville

Inspiring and innovative performances are a trademark of Timothy Verville’s...

Read more

Online program notes are available approximately two weeks before the performance.

Bailey Center for the Performing Arts


488 Prillaman Way, Kennesaw, GA 30144


Located on the campus of Kennesaw State University, The Dr. Bobbie Bailey & Family Performance Center is an acoustically superb 624-seat performance hall, designed by John Abbott of Stevens & Wilkinson Stang & Newdow Inc., with acoustic design by David Kahn of Acoustic Dimensions Inc. The variable acoustics in the space allow it to be optimally configured for a variety of musical presentations. 

Free event parking for guests is available after 7 p.m. in parking lots E, D, C, and J with additional parking available in the Jolly Lodge overflow lot and North Parking Deck. View KSU Parking Map