Goin’ Home

Event details

  • September 28, 2019
  • 8:00 pm
  • Marietta Performing Arts Center
  • 770-429-2390

There's no place like home. The Georgia Symphony's sixty-ninth season begins with a voyage of discovery, and a homecoming of enlightenment.

Beethoven's Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage is a short choral cantata that begins the sojourn. This work, which features the GSO Chorus, has very discernible connections to Beethoven’s most famous work, his ninth symphony. Elgar's Spanish Serenade and Sibelius’ Violin Concerto in D minor add a bit more international flavor to the mix.

Dvorak's popular "New World Symphony" brings us back home, but with a view of America through the eyes of a traveler. Its alluring melodies and driving brass fanfares have captivated audiences since its premier in 1893 at Carnegie Hall. The nostalgic second movement has been featured in arrangements, transcriptions, and utilized in film and documentary scores.


Ludwig van Beethoven
Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage
Edward Elgar
Spanish Serenade
Jean Sibelius
Violin Concerto in D minor, Op. 47 Mvt. I "Allegro Moderato"
Antonin Dvorak
Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, "From the New World", Op. 95

Georgia Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Founded in 2007, the GSO Chorus performs choral/orchestral works, pops,...

Read more

Bryan Black

Bryan Black has worked as a conductor, educator, church musician...

Read more

Timothy Verville

The award-winning Timothy Verville’s performances are hailed by reviewers as...

Read more

Online program notes are typically available 2 weeks before the performance